Who’s Your Daddy?

Now, I have nothing against gays, lesbians or anyone in the LGBT community. Not at all. I have nothing against gay couple having and raising children. But one thing I do have a BIG problem with is these lesbians who go around telling their children that their female lover/partner is the child’s “Daddy.” 

It truly boggles my mind as to why you would do that to a child. Yes, a family these days can be quite “modern” but that still doesn’t change the rules as to who is mommy and who is daddy. As long as I’ve been on this earth a “mommy” has always been a woman and a “daddy” has always been man. No matter if that woman was a stepmom, grandmother, aunt, cousin, neighbor, friend, etc “Mom” has always been a female. The same goes for the other side. When you speak of “Dad” you would be speaking of a male. 

If you are a lesbian or in a lesbian relationship and you have a child that is in your care, it makes no sense to have the child/children call your partner “Daddy.” Even more bewildering is when the mother does this when in fact the child’s ACTUAL father is an active participant in the child’s life. So obviously, the child would call their biological father “Daddy” and their mom, “Mommy”, but when at home with mother, the child also has to call this other woman “Daddy.” 

I think this must be really confusing for the child. How is this woman all of sudden their new dad? How do you explain her thinking that she has 1 mom and 2 dads, one of which isn’t a man. How does one say a sentence such as “I love my husband…she’s the best.” Or, “Go get your “Dad” HER slippers. Do you think many other of the child’s friends and classmates have ever heard of a dad who is not a man? What about when and if the mom splits with the female partner…what then? Does her female partner become a “dad” that walked out on their “child?”

Again, I think there is absolutely nothing wrong with two women being in a relationship and raising children. I simply feel that you should have the child address the partner as they are: a woman. No “he’s” or “his” or “hubby” or anything of that nature. If you want the child to address the partner as a parent figure, then simply have them call them “Mom” or “Mommy Jane” or whatever the case may be. What’s wrong with that?!

2 thoughts on “Who’s Your Daddy?

  1. I have never heard this before, but it makes me slightly uncomfortable. As a member of the LGBTQ “society,” I have solely stumbled upon the use of the term “Daddy” as referring to an attractive, older man. In my opinion, the fact that some people in lesbian relationships identify one as the male figure and one as the female figure is simply awe-inspiring; a common misrepresentation of same-sex relationships is that one must be the woman and one must be the man. By identifying as such, they’re oppressing themselves in a sad and demeaning way. Attention should be brought to something like this.

  2. Well, I hearbans see it ALL THE TIME. I don’t understand it either and I agree with you that it sad that they choose to insist that one assume the male role. I recently saw a status update that basically read “I hate when people ask me who is the man in our relationship. No one, duh… that’s the point.” I was glad to see that. If you want to be with a man, you should be. If you want to be a woman, then embrace HER, not try to make it seem like you’re in a “traditional” relationship.

Leave a comment